A few days ago I noticed that I still had a MySpace profile. I wrote myself a quick reminder to go and delete it, since I can’t remember the last time I logged in. Yesterday, I logged into my account and poked around a bit, just to make sure that I was ready to delete. I decided that it was time to weed my online social networking presence and say goodbye to MySpace.
Now, I’m a fairly technology savvy person and as a librarian I am happy to hunt and peck around a site to find the morsel of information that I need. I assumed that to delete my profile I would find some sort of button thingy that said something to the effect of, DELETE. Yeah right. Here’s how it works:
There are eleven steps involving activity on multiple pages. Note wording on Step 11.
I received this response as a result of filling out the Contact MySpace webform, per their request in Steps 8, 9 and 10 outlined in Part 1 above. Wait! Didn’t I already do Steps 1-6? Isn’t this how I ended up at Step 11 on Part 1 of my profile deletion?! Oh, I see, you need me to reply to this email. Fine. Done.
I guess I understand that since I am no longer a customer, MySpace no longer feels the need to participate in the relationship, but I would have preferred something more confidence inspiring. As opposed to, we might delete your profile in a couple of hours or we might never delete it! Great. Let me add checking my ability to login to my MySpace profile to my To Do list.
If you’ve deleted a Facebook profile, I’d love to hear if the process is equally challenging. If there’s something that I am missing about why this process should be more laborious than a simple delete button, please let me know. If you’re now inspired to delete your old MySpace profile, good luck!